MIL-OSI USA: Senate Passes “Georgia Development Impact Fee Act”

Recommended Sponsor - Buy Original Artwork Directly from the Artist

Source: US State of Georgia

ATLANTA (March 4, 2024) – Last week, the Georgia State Senate approved Senate Bill 208 and Senate Resolution 189, both measures sponsored by Georgia Senate Transportation Chairman and Chief Deputy Whip Sen. Greg Dolezal (R-Cumming). SB 208 introduces development impact fees for education for fast growing counties such as Forsyth, while SR 189 would place a ballot measure on the November ballot, allowing voters to change the Constitution to empower local boards of education to impose, levy, and collect these fees, utilizing the proceeds to contribute to the cost of additional educational facilities.

Sen. Dolezal applauded the passage of these bills saying, “I am pleased to announce the passage of both SB 208 and SR 189 through the Senate last week, vital measures that will positively impact our states education for generations to come. Developer impact fees for schools have long been discussed by my Forsyth constituents, and I am happy to see this measure pass the Senate with overwhelming support. While our state continues to experience growth and development, it is crucial that we alleviate the strain on our infrastructure and essential services, including schools. Enabling the implementation of development impact fees for education and related services will help offset the additional costs associated with maintaining these vital services, require development to pay their fair share of infrastructure expansion and keep taxes low for homeowners.”

SB 208 and SR 189 will now go before the Georgia House of Representatives for consideration. Sen. Dolezal added, “Rep. Todd Jones (R-South Forsyth) and I have both introduced these measures before, but I am excited for Rep. Jones to work with our local delegation to get this across the finish line in the House.”

You can read the full text of SB 208 here  and SR 189 here.

# # # #

Sen. Greg Dolezal serves as Chairman for the Senate Committee on Transportation. He represents the 27th Senate District, which includes a large part of Forsyth County. He may be reached by phone at 404.656.0040 or via email at