MIL-OSI USA: Hartzler Leads Call for DHS Secretary Mayorkas’s Resignation


Source: United States House of Representatives – Representative Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congresswoman Vicky Hartzler (R-Mo.) is leading the House effort calling for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Mayorkas’s resignation. This is based on his disastrous record securing the U.S. – Mexico border and the department’s newly created Disinformation Governance Board. Hartzler is joined by 23 House Republican colleagues in this effort.

Under Mayorkas’s tenure as DHS Secretary, more than two million illegal immigrants have crossed our border. Fentanyl overdoses are skyrocketing across our nation, with approximately 69,000 fentanyl overdoses in the 12-month period ending October 2021. Teenage overdose deaths linked to synthetic opioids like fentanyl have tripled. Later this month, Mayorkas is expected to end Title 42, a policy that allowed illegal immigrants to be deported quickly, making this crisis even worse.

On April 27, 2022, Secretary Mayorkas also established a “Disinformation Governance Board” with the goal of censoring free speech and conservatives online. His pick to lead the board, Nina Jankowicz, personally spread disinformation leading up to the 2020 election, calling Hunter Biden’s laptop a “Trump campaign product.”

“Secretary Mayorkas has shown he is incapable of handling our nation’s border security – unbelievably refusing to call it a crisis despite the unprecedented surge of illegal immigration,” Hartzler said. “Now – instead of working to mitigate this disaster – he is targeting conservatives and free speech by establishing an Orwellian Ministry of Truth. I’ve already called for President Biden to resign due to his incompetence in Afghanistan. It’s time for Secretary Mayorkas to do the same.”

“Secretary Mayorkas has demonstrated a complete unwillingness to protect border communities and enforce the law,” Rep. Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.) said. “Mayorkas has overseen the explosion of the largest border crisis in US history, while demonizing and abandoning the brave men and women with ‘boots on the ground’ who are desperately trying to stem the tide of illegal immigration, drugs, crime, and human trafficking. He should immediately resign and be replaced by someone who is truly dedicated to the security of our homeland.”

“Secretary Mayorkas has failed the American people and betrayed his oath of office to defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies by neglecting to address the crisis at our southern border. He has made every single law enforcement officer’s job tougher as fentanyl pours through our border and wreaks havoc on our communities, lied to the American people when he said the border was secure, and put each and every American life at risk in the process,” said Rep. John Rose (R-Tenn.). “Secretary Mayorkas’ tenure at DHS has been nothing but a complete failure, and he should resign immediately.”

“From flooding our nation with illegal aliens and dangerous drugs to taking aim at Americans’ First Amendment right to free speech, Secretary Mayorkas has routinely failed the American people — revealing his shameless dereliction of duty,” Rep. Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.) said. “To maintain any semblance of respect, Mayorkas must do what is honorable and resign immediately.”

“Mayorkas’ gross neglect to address the worst border crisis in U.S. history and his recent creation of a Disinformation Governance Board that poses serious threats to free speech warrant his immediate resignation as Secretary of Homeland Security,” said Rep. Chris Smith (R-N.J.).

Joining Hartzler in this resolution are Reps. Lisa McClain (R-Mich.), Yvette Herrell (R-N.M.), Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.), Mary Miller (R-Ill.), Warren Davidson (R-Ohio), Bob Gibbs (R-Ohio), John Rose (R-Tenn.), Dan Bishop (R-N.C.), Andy Biggs (R-AZ.), Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), Randy Weber (R-Texas), Louie Gohmert (R-Texas), Chris Smith (R-N.J), Ben Cline (R-Va.), Doug LaMalfa (R-Calif.), Gus Bilirakis (R-Fla.), Mike Carey (R-Ohio), John Moolenaar (R-Mich.), Barry Moore (R-Ala.), Michelle Fischbach (R-Minn.), Debbie Lesko (R-Ariz.), Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.) and Beth Van Duyne (R-Texas).

View the full resolution here.