MIL-OSI USA: Coons joins Senate colleagues to commemorate National Police Week


US Senate News:

Source: United States Senator for Delaware Christopher Coons
WASHINGTON – The U.S. Senate last night unanimously adopted a resolution cosponsored by Senator Chris Coons (D-Del.), co-chair of the Senate Law Enforcement Caucus, marking National Police Week and reiterating the nation’s support for the men and women in law enforcement. The bipartisan resolution was led by Judiciary Committee Ranking Member Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Chair Dick Durbin (D-Ill.).
“The men and women who protect and serve our neighborhoods in Delaware and across the country deserve our thanks, but more than that, they deserve representation in the Senate who recognize the fact that the more we put into our law enforcement officers, the more they’re connected to our neighbors and the more they help to sustain our communities. This week and every week, I promise I’ll continue funding the police and working to get the support and resources they need to serve and protect every Delawarean,” said Senator Coons.
“Putting on the badge to protect and serve our communities has always been a difficult and dangerous vocation, but last year has been one of the toughest. While the ongoing pandemic added a new risk to the job, violent crime and attacks targeting police have spiked in recent years. Now, more than ever, we owe law enforcement our gratitude and our support,” said Grassley.
“I could not be more grateful for the bravery federal, state, local, and tribal police have shown during the unprecedented challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.  As our country discusses how to best ensure accountability in our justice system and make our communities safer, it is important that we continue offering support for law enforcement officers who are serving us with dignity and integrity,” said Durbin.
The resolution honors the 576 law enforcement officers who were killed in the line of duty in 2021, including nearly 400 who died from COVID-19, as well as the 92 lost to date in 2022. 
The resolution designates the week of May 15 through May 21, 2022, as “National Police Week,” and expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities.
Along with Coons, Grassley, and Durbin, the resolution is cosponsored by Sens. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Angus King (I-Maine), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-Nev.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Shelly Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Gary Peters (R-Mich.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-Conn.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Edward Markey (D-Mass.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Michael Bennett (D-Colo.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), John Kennedy (R-La.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.) and John Hickenlooper (Colo.).
Text the resolution is available HERE.