MIL-OSI Europe: RECOMMENDATION on the draft Council decision on the conclusion, on behalf of the European Union, of the Protocol to amend the Air Transport Agreement between the United States of America and the European Community and its Member States – A9-0335/2021


Source: European Parliament


on the draft Council decision on the conclusion, on behalf of the European Union, of the Protocol to amend the Air Transport Agreement between the United States of America and the European Community and its Member States

(06385/2021 – C9‑0368/2021 – 2010/0112(NLE))


The European Parliament,

 having regard to the draft Council decision (06385/2021),

 having regard to the draft Protocol to amend the Air Transport Agreement between the United States of America and the European Community and its Members States[1] (09913/2010),

 having regard to the request for consent submitted by the Council in accordance with Article 100(2) and Article 218(6), second subparagraph, point (a), of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (C9‑0368/2021),

 having regard to Rule 105(1) and (4) and Rule 114(7) of its Rules of Procedure,

 having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on Transport and Tourism (A9-0335/2021),

1. Gives its consent to the conclusion of the Protocol;

2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and of the United States of America.



On 25 and 30 April 2007, the European Union signed an overall aviation agreement with the United States, which was amended by a Protocol signed on 24 June 2010 (together referred to as the US-EU ATA)[2]. The Protocol expands the scope and depth of the ATA adding provisions to establish a comprehensive aviation partnership with benefits for consumers, airlines and workers.

The Council has now requested the European Parliament’s consent to the US-EU ATA, in compliance with Article 218 TFEU.


In accordance with Rules 105 and 114 of Parliament’s Rules of Procedure, the Committee responsible (TRAN) shall submit a recommendation for the approval or rejection of the proposed act. Amendments at Committee level shall be admissible only with the aim to reverse the recommendation proposed by the rapporteur. Parliament shall then take a decision by means of a single vote, and no amendments to the agreement may be tabled.



Since 2007, and pending its entry into force, the US-EU ATA has been administratively applied. During its administrative application, it generated considerable economic benefits to both sides. With the signing of the 2010 Protocol, the EU-US passenger market measured in seat capacity has grown by 4% per year.

The agreement has also contributed to unprecedented transatlantic connectivity, with individual city pairs growing by 5% per year since the Protocol was signed – reaching more than 250 routes in 2019.  In 2019, more than 47 million passengers travelled between the EU and the US, representing 9% of all passengers travelling in and out of the Union, and being by far the largest intercontinental market. Since the signing of the ATA, passengers have benefitted from average savings of €230 for each trip to the US.

For cargo, the US is the largest extra-EU market, representing more than 20% of all goods transported to or from the EU by air.

The 2010 Protocol added dedicated social provisions, explicitly including a commitment to high labour standards, and environmental provisions in order to establish a framework to tackle the local and global environmental challenges linked to aviation. This was ground-breaking as these issues were included for the first time in an aviation agreement.

The US-EU ATA provides better market access for EU airlines and includes mechanisms to gradually achieve a normalisation of the aviation sector by liberalising foreign ownership. It also gives EU airlines full access to sell tickets to contractors of the US Government and a partial access to the air travel of US Government officials.





Carlo Fidanza, Peter Lundgren, Tomasz Piotr Poręba, Kosma Złotowski


Paolo Borchia, Marco Campomenosi, Massimo Casanova, Julie Lechanteux, Philippe Olivier


Mario Furore


Magdalena Adamowicz, Karolin Braunsberger-Reinhold, Gheorghe Falcă, Jens Gieseke, Elżbieta Katarzyna Łukacijewska, Benoît Lutgen, Marian-Jean Marinescu, Cláudia Monteiro de Aguiar, Massimiliano Salini, Barbara Thaler, Henna Virkkunen, Elissavet Vozemberg-Vrionidi, Lucia Vuolo


José Ramón Bauzá Díaz, Izaskun Bilbao Barandica, Søren Gade, Elsi Katainen, Caroline Nagtegaal, Jan-Christoph Oetjen, Dominique Riquet


Andris Ameriks, Ismail Ertug, Giuseppe Ferrandino, Isabel García Muñoz, Maria Grapini, Bogusław Liberadzki, Rovana Plumb, Vera Tax, István Ujhelyi, Petar Vitanov


Elena Kountoura


Ciarán Cuffe, Jakop G. Dalunde, Karima Delli, Anna Deparnay-Grunenberg, Tilly Metz





The Left

Clare Daly, Kateřina Konečná


Key to symbols:

+ : in favour

 : against

0 : abstention






EC-US air transport agreement


06385/2021 – C9-0368/2021 – 15381/2010 – C7-0385/2010 – 2010/0112(NLE)

Date of consultation / request for consent





Committee responsible

 Date announced in plenary







 Date appointed

Maria Grapini





Discussed in committee





Date adopted





Result of final vote







Members present for the final vote

Magdalena Adamowicz, Andris Ameriks, José Ramón Bauzá Díaz, Izaskun Bilbao Barandica, Paolo Borchia, Karolin Braunsberger-Reinhold, Marco Campomenosi, Massimo Casanova, Ciarán Cuffe, Jakop G. Dalunde, Karima Delli, Anna Deparnay-Grunenberg, Ismail Ertug, Gheorghe Falcă, Giuseppe Ferrandino, Mario Furore, Søren Gade, Isabel García Muñoz, Jens Gieseke, Elsi Katainen, Kateřina Konečná, Elena Kountoura, Julie Lechanteux, Bogusław Liberadzki, Peter Lundgren, Benoît Lutgen, Elżbieta Katarzyna Łukacijewska, Marian-Jean Marinescu, Tilly Metz, Cláudia Monteiro de Aguiar, Caroline Nagtegaal, Jan-Christoph Oetjen, Philippe Olivier, Rovana Plumb, Tomasz Piotr Poręba, Dominique Riquet, Massimiliano Salini, Vera Tax, Barbara Thaler, István Ujhelyi, Henna Virkkunen, Petar Vitanov, Elissavet Vozemberg-Vrionidi, Lucia Vuolo, Kosma Złotowski

Substitutes present for the final vote

Clare Daly, Carlo Fidanza, Maria Grapini

Date tabled




[1]  OJ L 223, 25.8.2010, p. 3.

[2] The 2010 Protocol was followed by the Wet-Lease Agreement (consent by the EP given in May 2021) and by the accession of Norway and Iceland to the ATA. Moreover, the signing of the Protocols related to the accession of Croatia are also under preparation.

MIL OSI Europe News