MIL-OSI UK Cities: Rural bus stop improvements

3

Source: Aisle of Wight

08 Oct 2021

Passengers can look forward to better bus stops thanks to a £150,000 improvement programme which is already underway.

A number of rural bus stops on the Island are being upgraded to improve safety and accessibility as part of the Isle of Wight Council scheme.

The works are specific to each location but include the introduction of dropped kerbs, new road markings and signage, tactile paving, increased hard standings and improved drainage.

The council worked closely with the Isle of Wight Bus and Rail Users’ Group, the Local Access Forum and Southern Vectis to draw up a list of more than ten bus stops to be upgraded. Local community requests were also considered.

Completed works so far include bus stops at Chale Street, Chale, Whitwell Road, Ventnor, Shanklin Road, Sandford, Alum Bay New Road, Totland, and Hillway Road, Bembridge.

The remaining accessibility improvement programme includes:

Forest Road, Newport – just west of Snows Garage, Mon 11/10/2021 Fri 22/10/2021

Gunville Road, Newport – just south of Forest Road, Mon 25/10/2021 Fri 05/11/2021

Park Road, Cowes – o/s Skate Park, Mon 08/11/2021 Fri 19/11/2021

Newport Road, Northwood – o/s County Show Ground, Mon 22/11/2021 Fri 03/12/2021

Nodes Road, Northwood – north of Uplands Road, Mon 06/12/2021 Mon 13/12/2021

Whitcombe Road, Gatcombe – Cox’s Corner, Mon 03/01/2022 Fri 14/01/2022

The programme is being funded from government grants to support highway improvements and rural bus services.

Motorists are advised there could be some localised disruption where works are taking place.

Councillor Phil Jordan, Cabinet member for transport and infrastructure, said: “Every bus passenger deserves a safe and accessible way to get to and from a bus stop and a safe and accessible place to wait for the bus.

“This investment in our bus stop infrastructure will improve travelling by public transport through increased comfort and safety and improved accessibility.”

Factfile

  • A number of rural bus stops on the Island are being upgraded to improve safety and accessibility.
  • The council worked closely with the Isle of Wight Bus and Rail Users’ Group, the Local Access Forum and Southern Vectis to draw up a list of more than ten bus stops to be upgraded.

MIL OSI United Kingdom