MIL-OSI Australia: Creative Economy Taskforce welcomes new Chair


Source: Australian Ministers for Regional Development

The Morrison Government has today appointed Ms Rachel Healy, Joint Artistic Director of the Adelaide Festival, as Chair of the Creative Economy Taskforce until August 2022.

Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, said Ms Healy’s experience as a senior leader in the cultural and creative sector and as an established member of the Creative Economy Taskforce equipped her well to lead the Taskforce.

“I congratulate Ms Healy on her appointment as Chair of the Taskforce and look forward to continuing to work with her in supporting the recovery of Australia’s vibrant creative and cultural sector following the impacts of the pandemic,” Minister Fletcher said.

“I would also like to thank outgoing Chair, Elizabeth Ann Macgregor OBE, for the leadership and vision she displayed in this role.”

The Government has appointed a new Taskforce member, Ms Barbara Moore, CEO of the Biennale of Sydney. Ms Moore brings distinguished experience and insight in the cultural and creative sector to the Taskforce, especially in the contemporary visual arts industry.

Incoming Chair of the Taskforce Rachel Healy said, “I am following Elizabeth Ann Macgregor’s outstanding leadership of the Taskforce over the last twelve months and I want to sincerely thank her for her tireless work and advocacy on behalf of Australia’s cultural community.”

“I look forward to continued work with the Taskforce and its highly experienced industry leaders in providing advice to government about the ongoing impacts of COVID-19 on Australia’s cultural and creative industries and measures for successfully rebuilding and reopening,” Ms Healy said.

Media contact: 

Christine Byllaardt | 0409 433 357 |