Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Region: Germany / Deutschland –

Source: DOSB Bernd Berkhahn (Magdeburg), national trainer (team leader) of the German Swimming Association was awarded the German Olympic Sports Confederation (DOSB) as Trainer of the Year 2020. Swimming world champion Florian Wellbrock and DOSB Vice President competitive sport Uschi Schmitz honored the 49-year-old on Sunday at the “Sportsman of the Year” gala in Baden-Baden by video message. Even in the Corona year, coach Bernd Berkhahn does not allow himself to be irritated by restrictions on sport: “He always has a plan B in his pocket,” states world-class long distance athlete Florian Wellbrock. He knows his protégés inside out, acknowledges vice world champion Sarah Köhler: “There is not a millimeter of my curled up that he has not yet analyzed.” Despite all the attention to detail, Berkhahn maintains a cooperative management style, appreciates the cooperation between home and national coaches * inside and surprises his athletes with the fact that he can always be approached despite the large number of technical and administrative tasks: “So he is the first point of contact for me and my colleagues when we have worries or problems of all kinds,” says Wellbrock. “Bernd Berkhahn has many reasons for which we award trainers of the year,” explains jury chair Uschi Schmitz. “He has achieved great success in open water and on the long haul and, as the DSV team leader, is well on the way with his colleagues to transfer this to the pool and the other distances. His work and his skills as a trainer and psychologist convinced the jury across the board. ”Over 20 years, Bernd Berkhahn developed competitive swimming in Elmshorn into one of the leading locations in Germany and continued his successful course from 2012 in Magdeburg. In 2019 the German Swimming Association appointed Bernd Berkhahn national coach (team leader). BackgroundTo honor outstanding, long-term and sustainable performance, the DOSB has been awarding the “DOSB Trainer of the Year” award since 2006. He wants to increase the public’s appreciation of trainers. “Trainers have a key function for the athletes,” says Uschi Schmitz. “With this award we would like to contribute to the fact that the trainers are strengthened overall. In order to achieve this at all levels, we at the DOSB launched the multi-year project `TrainerInSportdeutschland`. Because coaches are important for the top, but also for the base in the clubs. ”The chairman of the jury is Uschi Schmitz, who has been a national hockey player for many years and is currently vice president of competitive sports at the DOSB. It also includes: Ulla Koch, national coach gymnastics, Barbara Rittner, national tennis coach, Hermann Weinbuch, national coach Nordic combined, Jonathan Koch (member of the athletes’ commission of the DOSB and DOSB presidium member), Werner Klatten, chairman of the supervisory board of the Deutsche Sporthilfe Foundation, Dr. Petra Tzschoppe, DOSB Vice President Women and Equal Opportunities, Dirk Schimmelpfennig, DOSB Board Member Competitive Sports.The previous winners 2019: Andreas Bauer (ski jumping) 2018: Detlef Uibel (track bike) 2017: Jürgen Wagner (beach volleyball) 2016: Reiner Kießler (canoeing) 2015: Justus Wolf (para-alpine skiing) 2014: Norbert Loch (sledding) 2013: Silvia Neid (football) and Hermann Weinbuch (Nordic combined) 2012: Ralf Holtmeyer (rowing) and Hans Melzer (riding, eventing) 2011: Markus Weise (hockey ) 2010: Uwe Müßiggang (biathlon) 2009: Kim Raisner (modern pentathlon) 2008: Rolf-Dieter Amend (canoe) 2007: Heiner Brand (handball) 2006: Raimund Bethge (bobsleigh) Source: DOSB


EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and / or sentence structure not be perfect.

MIL Translation OSI