Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Government of the Republic of France statements from French to English –

Source: Canton of Neuchatel Switzerland

17.12.2020 Today, the Neuchâtel intercultural prize Salut l´Étranger was awarded to the “All different – All equal” Forum (FTDTE). This prize, awarded for the first time to a single winner, salutes the sustainability of a commitment and unfailing mobilization of associations, institutions and citizens on a daily basis and in particular around Neuchâtel Week. actions against racism. Twenty-seven nominations were presented to the prize jury, chaired by Mr. Roland Debély, also president of the Community for Integration and Multicultural Cohesion (CICM). The “All Different – All Equal” Forum, unanimously accepted by the members, received a check in the amount of 7,000 francs during the official ceremony which was held today at the Château de Neuchâtel. State Councilor Jean-Nathanaël Karakash conveyed the congratulations of the government to them. The head of the Department of the Economy and Social Action, who presented this award for the last time, recalled that the 26th edition of the award was part of a series of multiple celebrations: the thirty years of the intercultural integration policy of the Canton of Neuchâtel, the 25th anniversary of the “All different – All equal” Forum as well as the 55th anniversary of the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination. Recalling the context of a large global mobilization against racism and discrimination, he added how much the engagement of civil society was essential to fight against these scourges and to affirm and preserve, especially in times of crisis, the ideal of human rights and the foundations of democracy. Presentation of the winnerThe All Different – All Equal Forum (FTDTE) was created in 1995, following the Council of Europe’s Campaign against Racism, Xenophobia, Anti-Semitism and Intolerance. It is made up of volunteers, representatives of Neuchâtel associations and institutions wishing to get involved in the fight against racism and the promotion of human rights. Each year, around the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (March 21), the FTDTE works with the Multicultural Cohesion Service (COSM) to organize the Neuchâtel Week of Actions against Racism (SACR). In recent years, the SACR has grown to unprecedented and exceptional proportions, bringing together a multitude of players from across the canton around this event. This year, more than 82 partners had to propose an action and / or an event during the ACSS (It was postponed to September 2020 due to the pandemic, proposing around thirty actions). The diversity and the number of actors who generate this movement allows an exceptional impact within civil society and a better awareness of the scourges which undermine social cohesion. Each year, this mobilization makes it possible to sensitize the population of Neuchâtel to the realities of racism and discrimination and to recall the principles of the rule of law, the values ​​of equality, equal dignity and well-being for all. The terms that define the intercultural integration policy of the canton of Neuchâtel, a pioneer in Switzerland and recognized beyond national borders. Mr. Karakash also warmly thanked Mr. Roland Debély who chaired the prize jury for the last time, saluting his career as well as his remarkable work at the head of the CICM and the jury of the Salut stranger prize or of the ‘NeuchÀtoi Association since 2013. Neuchâtel Intercultural Prize Salut stranger Established in March 1995 by the Council of State to encourage openness and living together, the Neuchâtel intercultural prize Salut stranger remains a tangible mark of official recognition of those who work in favor of dialogue between people of different affiliations. In order to strengthen its intercultural dimension, the Council of State took advantage of the 2018 edition to adapt the objectives and the visual of the prize to the policy currently being pursued by the canton. As part of its legislative program and after the launch of its roadmap for an open and egalitarian administration, the Council of State continues to express its conviction that a society that promotes dialogue and the participation of each and everyone , regardless of its origins, is stronger. The jury has five members: Ms. Mireille Tissot-Daguette, Ms. Sandrine Keriakos, Mr. Roland Debély, Mr. Souhail Latrèche, Mr. Christian Mermet. It is chaired by Mr. Roland Debély, president of the Community for Integration and Multicultural Cohesion (CICM). EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and / or sentence structure not be perfect. MIL Translation OSI