Post sponsored by NewzEngine.com

Source: City of Lancaster

If you, a neighbour, family member or friend are struggling over Christmas for food or are feeling lonely, our Community Hub will be open every day except Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.

Call our team on 01524 582000 or email customerservices@lancaster.gov.uk and we will support you and direct you to the help you need.

The community hub phonelines are open over the Christmas period as follows:

Thursday 24th December 2020

8am-3pm

Friday 25th December 2020

Closed

Saturday 26th December 2020

Closed

Sunday 27th December 2020

10am – 3pm

Monday 28th December 2020

10am – 3pm

Tuesday 29th December 2020

8am -6pm

Wednesday 30th December 2020

8am – 6pm

Thursday 31st December 2020

8am -3pm

Friday 1st January 2021

Closed

Saturday 2nd January 2021

10am -3pm

Sunday 3rd January 2021

10am -3pm

Meanwhile, our Customer Services Centre and other services will close at 3pm on Christmas Eve and re-open at 9am on Tuesday, December 29.  The phonelines will also be closed on New Year’s Day and will re-open at 9am on January 4.

Markets

Festive opening times for the Charter Market and Assembly Rooms Emporium in Lancaster and Festival Market in Morecambe can be found at www.lancaster.gov.uk/markets

Salt Ayre Leisure Centre

Salt Ayre Leisure Centre will close for Christmas at 2pm on Christmas Eve and reopen at 6am on Tuesday, December 29.  The centre will close for New Year at 2pm on New Year’s Eve and re-open at 8am on Saturday, January 2.

For more information on timetables, visit www.lancaster.gov.uk/saltayre

Christmas waste and recycling collections

Don’t forget to check your collection calendar as there will be changes over the Christmas period to your normal waste and recycling collection days.

There will be no collections on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day.

Normal Collection Dates

Actual Collection Day

Monday, December 21

Saturday December 19

Tuesday, December 22

Monday, December 21

Wednesday, December 23

Tuesday, December 22

Thursday, December 24

Wednesday, December 23

Friday, December 25

Thursday, December 24

Monday, December 28 to Thursday, December 31

No Change

Friday, January 1

Saturday, January 2

If in doubt you should refer to your waste and recycling collection calendar.  If you have misplaced it, visit www.lancaster.gov.uk/bins or download and use the ilancaster app, available at www.lancaster.gov.uk/app

Christmas Tree Recycling Collections

For a small donation to St John’s Hospice, you can have your real Christmas trees collected from your doorstep by hospice volunteers in the new year. For more information or to book yourself a collection, visit: www.sjhospice.org.uk/recycletrees , or call 01524 382538 during office hours.

Large Bulky Items

For large bulky household items, residents should call customer services to arrange a collection, telephone 01524 582491.  For more information on Bulky Matters collection service, visit www.lancaster.gov.uk/bulkymatters

Alternative you can call upon recycling and reuse charity Freegle which offers a free Internet-based service where people can give away and ask for things that would otherwise be thrown away – visit www.ilovefreegle.org for more information.

Batteries

Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without larger than normal supplies of batteries so the council is urging everyone this year to use the bins provided for used batteries at most major supermarkets in the area.

For more information and top tips for recycling as much as possible over the festive season, visit recyclenow.com

Trade waste collection service

There will also be changes to our commercial waste and collection service over the Christmas and New Year period.  For more information visit www.lancaster.gov.uk/tradewaste

Suspension of garden waste collections

Residents in the Lancaster district who have subscribed to the council’s garden waste collection service are being reminded that collections will be suspended over the winter months in what is traditionally the quietest time for gardeners.

There will be no collections of garden waste from Monday, December 14 until collections resume on Monday, January 25 2021.  During this time, people are being encouraged to either compost the green waste which may accumulate over this period or dispose of it at a local recycling centre.

However, people who wish to subscribe to the garden waste collection service provided by the council from Monday, April 1 2021, will be able to do so from February at a cost of £40 per green bin.  There will be no increase in fees for this collections service for 2021/22.

Last updated: 15 December 2020