Post sponsored by

Source: Australian Ministers for Education

2021 Tim Fischer and Bob Hawke John Monash Scholarships

Kilau Timur
Thu, 11/26/2020 – 10:26

Media Release

Daniel Yore and Alice Crawford were named the recipients of the 2021 Tim Fischer and Bob Hawke John Monash Scholarships respectively, by the General Sir John Monash Foundation.

Mr Yore was awarded the 2021 Tim Fischer John Monash Scholarship and will undertake a Master of Public Administration (MPA), in Innovation, Public Policy and Public Value, at University College London (UK).

Ms Crawford was awarded the 2021 Bob Hawke John Monash Scholarship and will undertake a Master of Public Administration at Harvard (USA), in Domestic Policy and Economics.

Minister for Education Dan Tehan said the Coalition Government had provided $10 million to the General Sir John Monash Foundation to support the awarding of Scholarships in perpetuity, named in honour of the late Prime Minister Bob Hawke and the late Deputy Prime Minister Tim Fischer.

“The Bob Hawke John Monash and Tim Fischer John Monash Scholarships support outstanding Australians with academic ability and leadership potential to pursue international opportunities to further their knowledge, skills and experience,” Mr Tehan said.

“Bob Hawke and Tim Fischer were great leaders, great Australians and great thinkers and these scholarships honour their contribution to our nation.

“On behalf of the Government, I would like to congratulate both recipients.”

Minister for Regional Education Andrew Gee said the scholarships were a tribute to the national leadership of Bob Hawke and Tim Fischer.

“This year’s recipients, Mr Yore and Ms Crawford, possess the same leadership qualities and desire to make a valuable contribution to their community,” Minister Gee said.

“These scholarships are a tremendous opportunity to undertake postgraduate study, particularly for country Australians.

“The Tim Fischer John Monash Scholarship, which supports country scholars, reflects Tim Fischer’s passion for regional education and the future of regional Australia. As a teacher and head of a secondary school in Yirrkala in northeast Arnhem Land in the Northern Territory, Mr Yore is a very worthy recipient.”

Each year, the Foundation awards a scholarship in the name of Bob Hawke and Tim Fischer for up to three years of study.

Minister roles
“15286”: [
“Minister for Education”
“18682”: [
“Minister for Decentralisation and Regional Education”,
“Minister Assisting the Minister for Trade and Investment”
The Hon Dan Tehan MP
The Hon Andrew Gee MP