Post sponsored by

Source: United Nations (Video News)

Informal comments to the media by Christoph Heusgen, Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations, on Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.

Speaking in his role of the Chair of the DPRK Sanctions Committee, German ambassador to the UN Christoph Heusgen told reporters on Tuesday that “Russia and China have been stalling the process” of agreeing on barrels-to-tons conversion rates which as consequence “undermines Council’s decision to place a cap on the oil export” to North Korea..

“For the DPRK sanctions regime to be effective, all Member States must abide by these resolutions and the sanctions in the resolution, and this includes the obligation to notify the Sanctions Committee of experts of petroleum to the DPRK in the unit of barrels,” said Christoph Heusgen, Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations.

“Russia and China have so far refrained from reporting in barrels, they report in tons,” sad Heusgen adding that “despite numerous attempts, the issue has been on the agenda for no less than three years to find an agreement on a conversion rate” which in turn prevents the UN from conclusively determining “whether the cap has been reached.”

“Russia and China have been stalling the process,” German ambassador said. “This damages the credibility of the Sanctions Committee and the Council.”

He has reportedly raised the issue again at the closed-door meeting of the Council earlier on Tuesday (17 Nov) and while according to Heusgen, “there was broad support for the Chair of the Sanctions Committee,” to finally resolve the issue, “both China and Russia are still stalling today.”

Heusgen explained that in his role of the Chair of the Sanctions Committee, he has “worked closely with both delegations to find a compromise.” However, he added, “while this shouldn’t be a complicated matter to solve it has become clear that the two delegations are politicizing this topic.”

The Security Council’s Committee was established on 14 October 2006 pursuant to its resolution 1718 to oversee the relevant sanctions measures relating to the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK). It comprises all 15 members of the Security Council and makes its decisions by consensus. The German ambassador Christoph Heusgen is the current Chair of the Committee, serving through 31 December 2020 is. The two Vice-Chairs for 2020 are Estonia and Tunisia. The Committee prepares annual reports of its activities.

Screenshot Credit: UN Photo/Manuel Elías