Post sponsored by

Source: UK Government

Major port areas to receive a share of £10 million for transition planning
Money will help the local area to prepare for the end of the transition period.

Councils across England will receive a share of £10 million to support their preparations for the end of the transition period, Local Government Secretary Robert Jenrick has announced (Monday 16 November).
The fund will help councils prepare for changes at the border, bolstering local plans to ensure operations can continue to run smoothly at the end of the transition period.
For example, Kent County Council will receive £1.7 million to help with preparations for Operation Brock, the planned traffic management system for ports including Dover and Folkestone. The funding will be used to ensure traffic at the port and in the surrounding areas can move easily, preventing delays to freight and other vital local services.
In addition, Hull City Council which has a high impact Roll-on Roll-off port will receive funding to help respond to any localised disruption. Other areas such as Doncaster will receive additional funding to support local priorities and  employ specialist staff to help with their transition planning and reporting to ensure they can continue to deliver vital services.
This share of the additional £10 million comes on top of £704 million government investment into our borders, including £470 million for port infrastructure.
We continue to engage with local areas on what support they may need to ensure an orderly end to the transition period.
Further information
The money is an unringfenced allocation covering spend in 2020 to 2021.
Full allocations:
Ashford Borough Council – £1 million
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council – £86,000
Bristol City Council – £86,000
Cheshire West and Chester Council – £86,000
Dartford Borough Council – £500,000
Doncaster Council – £86,000
Dover District Council – £500,000
East Riding of Yorkshire Council – £86,000
East Suffolk District Council – £150,000
East Sussex County Council – £86,000
Epping District Council – £500,000
Essex County Council – £150,000
Folkestone and Hythe District Council – £150,000
Great Yarmouth Borough Council – £86,000
Hampshire County Council – £150,000
Hull City Council – £150,000
Ipswich City Council – £86,000
Kent County Council/Kent Relief Forum – £1.7 million
Lancashire County Council – £150,000
Lancaster City Council – £150,000
Medway Unitary Authority – £150,000
North East Lincolnshire Council – £150,000
North Lincolnshire Council – £150,000
North Tyneside Council – £86,000
Plymouth City Council – £86,000
Portsmouth City Council – £150,000
Redcar and Cleveland Unitary Authority – £150,000
Sefton Council – £150,000
Solihull Metro Borough Council – £800,000
South Holland District Council – £86,000
Southampton City Council – £150,000
Tendring District Council – £150,000
Thanet District Council – £500,000
Thurrock Council – £500,000
Warrington Borough Council – £800,000

Office address and general enquiries

Media enquiries

Social media – MHCLG

MIL OSI United Kingdom