Post sponsored by

Source: United States House of Representatives – Congressman Scott Tipton (CO-03)

November 16, 2020

Press Release

WASHINGTON—Congressman Scott Tipton (CO-03) announced the names of 30 students from Colorado’s Third Congressional District who received a nomination to attend a military service academy. The individuals were selected based on meeting or exceeding the rigorous requirements of the respective academy and Tipton’s office.

“The defense of our nation relies solely on voluntary service and it’s remarkable these students set themselves apart from their peers by striving to be the next generation of military leaders,” said Tipton. “I am honored to nominate each and every one of these young men and women to attend the prestigious military academies and wish these exceptional individuals continued success in their careers.”

Tipton personally called each candidate to share the news last week.

Congressman Scott Tipton’s Academy Nominations for the Third Congressional District:

U.S. Air Force Academy

  • Jamie Brown, Grand Junction*
  • Nicholas Burke, Grand Junction*
  • Micah DeField, Hotchkiss*
  • Sean DeHeart, Pueblo*
  • Tucker Etsy, Edwards
  • Gabe Gallagher, Grand Junction
  • Joey Gates, Craig
  • Anaiya Harris, Grand Junction
  • Zachary James, Pueblo
  • Berkeley Kelly, Eagle*
  • Erik Krauth, New Castle
  • Layne Martinez, Pueblo*
  • Emily Medina, Ridgway*
  • Isaac Musselman, Carbondale*
  • Helena Ostaszewski, Steamboat Springs*
  • John Plutt, Pueblo West*
  • Benjamin Sceats, Glenwood Springs*
  • Dayton Sofka, Olathe
  • Sebastian Witt, Eagle*

U.S. Naval Academy

  • Connor Eaton, Crested Butte
  • Gabriel Gueretta, Grand Junction
  • Jeffrey Lowe, Glenwood Springs
  • Zoe Manke, Steamboat Springs*
  • Augustus Reed, Montrose
  • James Walsh, Steamboat Springs*
  • Jacy Werner, Steamboat Springs*

U.S. Military Academy (Army)

  • Ford Pitts, Durango
  • Grace Romero, Aspen

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

  • Justin Henderson Meeker
  • Simon Varela, Austin



Congressman Scott Tipton represents Colorado’s Third District. He serves on the House Committee on Financial Services. He is Vice Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Financial Institutions. Tipton is the Executive Vice Chairman of the Congressional Western Caucus and Co-chairman of the Congressional Small Business Caucus