Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Region: Germany / Deutschland –

Source: BMW Group Whether in the DTM, the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship or countless other racing series: week after week, BMW teams and drivers fight for points, wins and titles. The members of the large BMW Motorsport family make headlines around the world even off-track. With the “BMW Motorsport News” we summarize the events for you in a compact and informative way. So you always stay up to date.

24H SERIES: Team AVIA Sorg Rennsport secured several titles. The 24H SERIES 2020 ended on the weekend with the 12-hour race in Mugello (ITA) – and with great success for Team AVIA Sorg Rennsport. The team not only secured race victory with the # 451 BMW M4 GT4, but also won several titles. The race was held in two parts on Friday and Saturday. After a total of 302 laps, the AVIA Sorg Rennsport team with drivers José Manuel de los Milagros, Sergio Paulet, Philippe Valenza (all ESP) and Björn Simon (GER) won the GT4 class by a large margin. The AVIA Sorg Rennsport team won the championship title in the overall GT standings and the GT4 class of the 24H SERIES Continents, de los Milagros and Simon also became champions in the overall GT standings and the GT4 class. In addition, de los Milagros finished the 2020 season in second place overall in the 24H SERIES Europe GT4 class and third in the 24H SERIES Europe GT classification.

GT Racing: BMW wins manufacturers ‘championship on the Nordschleife. At the end of an extremely successful year at the Nürburgring-Nordschleife (GER), BMW has won the manufacturers’ championship, which was announced for the first time. The training and racing results of all rounds of the Nürburgring Endurance Series (NLS) were included in this evaluation. In addition, qualifying and the race result after 12 and 24 hours were taken into account in the 24-hour race. In the final accounts, BMW had a narrow lead over its competitors with 129 points. For BMW, the victory and third place for ROWE Racing and BMW Team Schnitzer in the 24-hour race as well as two NLS victories by ROWE Racing and Walkenhorst Motorsport went into the classification. “Winning the manufacturers’ championship for the Nordschleife races is the icing on the cake of a very successful racing season for BMW Motorsport in the ‘Green Hell’”, says the previous BMW Group Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. “Everything was outstanding, of course, for ROWE Racing to win the 24-hour race, which after ten years of waiting meant BMW’s 20th triumph in this classic, and the podium for BMW Team Schnitzer. But our successes in the NLS races were also a lot of fun. Even if they did not make it into this manufacturers’ championship, I would like to take this opportunity to remind all BMW M Customer Racing Teams about their great Nordschleife seasons and numerous NLS titles with the BMW M4 GT4, BMW M240i Racing, BMW 330i, BMW 325i and congratulate other BMW vehicles. All in all, we saw exciting races and great duels everywhere. “

Michelin Pilot Challenge: Victory for Turner Motorsport in Sebring.Turner Motorsport closed the 2020 season with another victory in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge. At the finale in Sebring (USA) Robby Foley and Cameron Lawrence (both USA) could not be beaten in the # 95 BMW M4 GT4. This secured the Turner Motorsport team their third win of the season. Gregory Liefooghe and Sean Quinlan (both USA) crossed the finish line in ninth place in the # 43 BMW M4 GT3 from Stephen Cameron Racing. Foley was in double action in this race and also competed with Vincent Barletta (USA) in the # 96 BMW M4 GT4 from Turner Motorsport. They took twelfth place. James Clay and Mike Skeen (both USA) finished 14th in the # 82 BMW M4 GT4 from BimmerWorld Racing.

GT4 European Series: Borusan Otomotiv Motorsport on the podium at the finale.The Borusan Otomotiv Motorsport team took further podium positions at the season finale of the GT4 European Series in Le Castellet (FRA). In the Pro-Am category, Cem Bölükbasi and Yagiz Gedik (both TUR) secured second place on the podium in the # 12 BMW M4 GT4 in Saturday’s race. The duo was eliminated in race two on Sunday, but this no longer had any influence on their placement in the Pro-Am championship standings: In this, Bölükbasi and Gedik took an excellent second place after the final. Your teammates Fatih Ayhan and Ibrahim Okyay (both TUR) also made it onto the podium in Le Castellet. They finished third in the AM category in Sunday’s race with their # 13 BMW M4 GT4. The duo finished sixth in their class in race one on Saturday.

BTCC: Team BMW secures victory in the 2020 team and manufacturers ‘titles. Champion honors in the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC): At the finale at Brands Hatch (GBR), Team BMW won the team title and secured victory for BMW in the manufacturers’ championship of the 2020 season. Driver Colin Turkington (GBR) finished the year in second place in the drivers’ championship. At the finale, there were another three races on the program in partly changeable conditions. Turkington came in ninth, fourth and ninth in his BMW 330i M Sport. His team-mate Tom Oliphant (GBR) finished the races in tenth, 15th and 13th place. After qualifying, Turkington was also given a special honor: he was awarded the “Goodyear Wingfoot Award”, a special prize for the driver, who achieved the best overall qualifying results over the season.

DTM: BMW Team RBM wins the Hankook Best Pitstop Award 2020. At the end of the 2020 DTM season, BMW Team RBM will receive a special prize: the team and the crew of Philipp Eng (AUT) have won the Hankook Best Pitstop Award 2020 won. Analogous to the points awarded in the races, the individual vehicle crews were credited with counters for the fastest pit stops after each racing weekend of the season. The BMW Team RBM crew from Eng scored the full 25 points for the fastest stop of the weekend at four of the nine season events. In total, she collected 151 points for the Hankook Best Pitstop Award. BMW Team RMG and Timo Glock’s (GER) crew followed in second place. She achieved 118 points and was the fastest crew at pit stops three times this season.


EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and / or sentence structure not be perfect.

MIL Translation OSI