Post sponsored by

Source: State of Victoria Local Government

Posted Friday 6 November, 01:36pm

On Wednesday the results of the Local Government Election 2020 were announced by the Victorian Electoral Commission.

The community elected Jo Armstrong, Peter Beales, Bill Waterson, Bob Sanders, Henry Burridge, Gwenda Allgood and Rob Armstrong as our representatives for the next four years.

“We have some new and some familiar faces on our new Council. I look forward to working with all of our new Councillors to make our municipality a great place to live”, said Ararat Rural City CEO Dr Tim Harrison.

“This is not an easy job and is very different to what many people imagine. Over the next four years the Councillors will help set the strategic direction of the Council. The community will see this reflected through Council’s Annual Budget and the four-year Council Plan.”

“Congratulations to all candidates, it takes a lot of courage to nominate. It also reflects positively on our community to have 12 people nominate for these challenging positions.”

Councillors will be taking their oaths of office next Monday and the Statutory Meeting of Council will take place on Thursday. In this meeting the Mayor and Deputy Mayor will be elected and roles on committees will be filled.