Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Government of the Republic of France statements from French to English –

Source: Republic of France in French The French Republic has issued the following statement:

Credits: © nosorogua – AdobeStock

Free movement, testing, quarantine, border closures for travelers coming from France … The pandemic is evolving and you need to know what the rules are for traveling to another country in the European Union (EU)? To enable you to see more clearly, takes stock.

There are different levels of restrictions on French citizens or flights originating from France.

Countries where entry is possible without conditions

To date, the following EU countries are accessible to travelers coming from France without conditions:

Luxembourg ;
Poland ;
Bulgaria ;

While remaining accessible to travelers from France, some countries ask to complete forms relating to their place of stay or state of health . It is :

Belgium ;
Croatia ;
Greece ;
the Netherlands ;
Portugal (specific provisions for the Azores and Madeira);

Countries where entry is possible under certain conditions

RT-PCR test negative, otherwise isolation period

Madeira and the Azores: entry is limited to people who have tested negative within 48 to 72 hours of travel or upon arrival at the airport.
Malta: the same measure is taken for flights from Paris and Marseille.
Slovenia: travelers from all metropolitan regions, with the exception of the Grand-Est, and Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, Réunion and Saint-Martin, are placed in isolation for 10 days unless they can justify a negative test less than 48 hours at the time of their arrival.
Germany: Travelers coming from all metropolitan regions and from Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, Réunion and Saint-Martin must justify a negative RT-PCR test, failing which they will be placed in fourteen.
Italy: it is necessary to justify a negative molecular or antigenic test carried out 72 hours before departure or to perform one within 48 hours after arrival.
Iceland: All travelers can choose to be tested first on arrival and then after 5 days of isolation or undergo quarantine for 2 weeks. Iceland does not recognize tests carried out outside its territory.
Slovakia: without a negative test of less than 72 hours, isolation for 14 days is compulsory on arrival. It can be reduced to 5 days after a negative screening result or after 10 days if travelers do not show symptoms during isolation.
Austria: people arriving from Île-de-France and the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region and not having previously carried out a test within 72 hours before departure, must respect an isolation period of 10 days which may be reduced in the event of a negative result.

Isolation period

Ireland and Norway: Isolation for a period of 10 to 14 days is imposed without prior testing.
Latvia: after cancellations of direct flights from France, you have to go through another country and put yourself in self-isolation for 10 days.
Netherlands: compulsory isolation for 10 days, even with a certificate attesting to a negative test on arrival.
United Kingdom: quarantine is mandatory.

Negative RT-PCR test and isolation period

Belgium: an isolation period of up to 10 days as well as a PCR test are imposed depending on the answers to the mandatory questionnaire. These restrictions do not apply to cross-border workers and stays of less than 48 hours.
Lithuania: 14 days self-isolation should be practiced, it can be reduced to 10 days if a test carried out on the 8th day of self-isolation gives a negative result.
Romania: a fortnight must be respected upon arrival. It can be shortened after ten days if a test taken on the 8th day of the isolation period is negative. This isolation does not apply if the stay is less than 3 days, but a test must be carried out within 48 hours of travel.

Reasons for traveling

Finland: people who can travel to the territory must prove their residence on Finnish territory, have a family tie with a local resident, or come for a professional or student stay. It is strongly recommended that you stay in isolation for 10 days upon arrival.
Denmark: entry is prohibited for travelers from France except for legitimate and justified reasons (family visit, business travel, transit).
Czech Republic: It is recommended that travel to the Czech Republic be limited to strictly essential travel as the country is in lockdown until November 3, 2020 (renewable).

Countries where borders are closed to travelers from France

Cyprus: Cypriot citizens residing in Cyprus, permanent residents in Cyprus with a registration (yellow slip) and diplomats, persons having obtained employment in Cyprus, residents in Cyprus without “Yellow slip”, the 1st degree family of a resident in Cyprus, a person having to go to Cyprus for a special circumstance (death, etc.). If you are allowed to travel to Cyprus from France, a test will be required on arrival (carried out at the airport or in France less than 72 hours before), followed by a period of home isolation of 14 days. The RT-PCR screening test should be performed again 2 days before the end of the 14-day isolation period.
Hungary: only permanent residents, as well as citizens of Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Poland are allowed to travel to Hungary but must respect a period of fourteen upon arrival.

What about the students?

Restrictions have been adopted in some countries for students in the context of university exchanges:

Czech Republic: No entry restrictions from France but an RT-PCR test must be carried out before starting studies.
Italy: cross-border students are exempt from testing.
Netherlands: students are exempt from quarantine.
Denmark and Finland: Being a student at a university is considered a legitimate reason for going to these countries.
Cyprus: Erasmus students can enter the territory but an RT-PCR test must be carried out 72 hours before arrival as well as a solitary confinement.

Instructions for returning to France

Upon arrival in France from one of the regions classified as red, orange or gray according to the map of the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), people aged 11 or over are strongly encouraged to take a test. virological (for example RT-PCR), to isolate the time to obtain the results of this test, to prolong the isolation in case of positive result and to consult a doctor.

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and / or sentence structure not be perfect.

MIL Translation OSI