Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Region: Russian Federation –

The list includes 29 border checkpoints.


Order of October 23, 2020 No. 2741-r

From the beginning of 2021, a unified electronic visa is being introduced in Russia. The list of border checkpoints through which it will be possible to cross the border with such a visa was approved by Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin.

The list includes 29 border checkpoints. In particular, these are international airports in Belgorod, Volgograd, Yekaterinburg, Kazan, Krasnodar, Krasnoyarsk, Moscow, Nizhny Novgorod, Novosibirsk, Rostov-on-Don, Samara and St. Petersburg.

The ports of St. Petersburg, Vladivostok and Zarubino (Primorsky Territory) are among the sea checkpoints. Among the automobile ones there are six border checkpoints in the Kaliningrad region (Bagrationovsk, Gusev, Mamonovo (Grzhekhotki and Gronovo), Morskoe, Sovetsk), one in the Pskov region (Ubylinka) and one in the Leningrad region (Ivangorod). The latter is also on the list of pedestrian checkpoints.

The list will be supplemented with new border checkpoints as they are equipped with the necessary equipment.

The pilot project for the introduction of an electronic visa started in 2017 and had a number of restrictions. Foreign citizens could cross the border with such a document only through some border checkpoints in the Far Eastern Federal District, St. Petersburg, Leningrad and Kaliningrad regions. However, they could not leave the boundaries of these regions.

Now the e-visa will be valid throughout Russia. It will be possible to cross the border through checkpoints in many regions, and travel throughout the country. In addition, the period of stay of foreign citizens in Russia will increase from 8 to 16 days.

An electronic visa will be issued via the Internet for tourist, business, humanitarian and guest trips. To receive it, you will not need invitations, hotel reservations or any other documents confirming the purpose of the trip. The processing time will take no more than four days. The consular fee will be $ 40. Children under 6 years of age will receive a visa free of charge.

The introduction of a unified electronic visa in Russia will help the development of tourism, increase the investment attractiveness of the regions and contribute to the growth of the economy as a whole.

Earlier, Mikhail Mishustin approved the list of states whose citizens will be able to obtain an electronic visa.

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and or sentence structure not be perfect.

MIL OSI Russia News