Post sponsored by

Source: United States House of Representatives – Congresswoman Deb Haaland (NM-01)

Albuquerque, N.M. – This week, Senator Ed Markey (D-MA) and Congresswoman Deb Haaland’s (NM-01) THRIVE resolution received its 100th congressional cosponsor. With this most recent addition of support, the THRIVE resolution demonstrates broad support for a coronavirus recovery agenda that centers around jobs, justice, and climate. 

The Agenda to Transform, Heal, and Renew by Investing in a Vibrant Economy, or THRIVE Agenda, lays out the unifying principles necessary to build a society that enables dignified work; increased racial, economic, gender, and environmental justice; healthy communities; and a stable climate. The THRIVE agenda is built on eight pillars, which span from creating millions of good, safe jobs with access to unions to averting climate catastrophe while investing in Black, Brown, and Indigenous communities.

“The promise of the American dream should be available and accessible to everyone, but tens of millions of people are unemployed and our country is facing the interlocking effects of a global pandemic, economic downturn, and climate crisis. The momentum building behind the THRIVE Agenda shows that we have the backing to take bold action to renew our economy and deliver justice in the process.” said Congresswoman Deb Haaland.

“Growing momentum for the THRIVE Agenda is about more than this one resolution, it’s the growing momentum for justice in America – justice in health care, education, employment, and the environment. We can rebuild from the current coronavirus crisis by combatting the ongoing climate crisis, and support for the THRIVE Agenda shows bold action must be our path forward,” said Senator Ed Markey.

The THRIVE Agenda is supported by more than 200 national and local organizations, including the American Federation of Teachers, Center for American Progress, Church World Service, Climate Justice Alliance, Color of Change, Communications Workers of America, Green New Deal Network, Indigenous Environmental Network, League of Conservation Voters, Movement for Black Lives, People’s Action, Service Employees International Union, Sierra Club, Sunrise Movement, United We Dream. 

“In this dark moment, with Covid cases rising and the GOP blocking critical economic relief, the THRIVE Agenda’s broad support offers hope for the future. THRIVE lays out a bold, popular agenda for how we can transform our country for the better in the face of systemic racism, climate change, and rampant economic inequality. This is the vision that Democrats should continue to fight for come 2021.” – Lauren Maunus, Sunrise Movement Legislative Manager

“As Indigenous peoples, we know the crises we’re facing are related, so solutions must be as well. We joined THRIVE because we believe it’s a solid step towards strengthening Indigenous sovereignty and our nation-to-nation relationship with the United States. THRIVE will uplift bold solutions that prioritize communities, jobs and environment instead of corporate gain. It will empower those most impacted by the pandemic, climate change and racial injustice. And 100 congressional leaders agree with us by sponsoring this legislation. We welcome their support and look forward to economic just recovery and just transition on Indigenous lands and territories.” – Tom BK Goldtooth, Executive Director, Indigenous Environmental Network 

“Thousands of care workers all across this country put our bodies on the frontlines of the Covid pandemic caring for children, elders, people with disabilities, and those who are the most vulnerable.  The THRIVE Agenda invests in the dignity and rights of women essential workers and in this way invests in all the wellbeing of all of our families.” – Alma Santana, Mujeres Unidas y Activas and the Grassroots Global Justice Alliance 

The THRIVE resolution has been co-sponsored by Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer and Senators Elizabeth Warren, Ron Wyden, Bernie Sanders, Richard Blumenthal, Cory Booker, Martin Heinrich, Tom Udall, Kirsten Gillibrand, and Jeff Merkley.

Co-sponsors in the House include Representatives Debbie Dingell, Sheila Jackson Lee, Ro Khanna, Raul Grijalva, Barbara Lee, Brendan Boyle, Rosa DeLauro, Ilhan Omar, A. Donald McEachin, Rashida Tlaib, Adam Smith, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Earl Blumenauer, Jared Huffman, Nanette Diaz Barragán, Jesús G. “Chuy” García, Joseph P. Kennedy III, Veronica Escobar, Andy Levin, Jan Schakowsky, Donald M. Payne Jr., Judy Chu, Stephen F. Lynch, Adriano Espaillat, Alan Lowenthal, Bennie G. Thompson, Peter Welch, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Nydia M. Velázquez, Chellie Pingree, Alcee L. Hastings, Yvette D. Clarke, Frederica S. Wilson, Juan Vargas, Mark Pocan, Doris Matsui, Gerald E. Connolly, Jimmy Gomez, Suzanne Bonamici, Ayanna Pressley, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Brian Higgins, Eliot L. Engel, Jerrold Nadler, Al Green, Pramila Jayapal, Emanuel Cleaver II, Tony Cárdenas, James P. McGovern, Jamie Raskin, Karen Bass, Katherine Clark, Mikie Sherrill, Danny K. Davis, Al Lawson, Val Demings, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Mary Gay Scanlon, Tom Suozzi, Steve Cohen, Marcy Kaptur, Charlie Christ, Betty McCollum, Ted W. Lieu, Carolyn B. Maloney, Lori Trahan, Darren Soto, Dan Kildee, Jose E. Serrano, Joseph D. Morelle, Jackie Speier, Ann Kirkpatrick, Adam B. Schiff, Hakeem Jeffries, Diana Degette, Steven Horsford, Mark Takano, William R. Keating, Ed Perlmutter, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Cedric L. Richmond, Jason Crow, Joyce Beatty, Pete Aguilar, Dwight Evans, Grace Napolitano, Grace Meng, and Paul Tonko.

A copy of the THRIVE resolution can be found HERE. A one-page overview of the THRIVE Agenda can be found HERE.