Post sponsored by

Source: Hong Kong Government special administrative region

Appointments to Museum Advisory Committee
Appointments to Museum Advisory Committee

     The Home Affairs Bureau announced today (October 20) appointments to the Museum Advisory Committee (MAC) and its three standing sub-committees, namely the Art Sub-committee (ASC), the History Sub-committee (HSC) and the Science Sub-committee (SSC), with the re-appointment of Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai as Chairperson of the MAC, Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang as Chairperson of the ASC, Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei as Chairperson of the HSC and Professor Ching Pak-chung as the Chairperson of the SSC.     All appointments are for a two-year term up to October 19, 2022.     The MAC and its three standing sub-committees, established on October 20, 2016, comprise members of different backgrounds with a great wealth of professional expertise and experience relevant to the work of the museums, including professionals, academics, museum experts, collectors, art promoters, entrepreneurs, marketing and public relations experts, and community leaders. The MAC and its three standing sub-committees advise the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) on strategies for development, promotion and management of the public museums.      A spokesman for the Home Affairs Bureau thanked all the Chairpersons and members of the MAC and its standing sub-committees for their ardent support and invaluable contributions in the past years, including Professor Eva Man Kit-wah, the outgoing MAC Member; Mr Chiu Kwong-chiu and Dr Anita Chung, the outgoing ASC Co-opted Members; and Professor Leung Pak-wo, the outgoing SSC Co-opted Member, and looked forward to receiving the valuable advice of the new MAC and its standing sub-committees on the development of the public museums.      The membership list and terms of reference of the MAC are as follows:ChairpersonMr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai MembersMr Victor Cheng Pat-leungMs Liza Cheung Lai-sangProfessor Ching Pak-chungMs Anita Fung Yuen-meiDr Allen Fung Yuk-lun*Mrs Christine Ip Yeung See-mingMs Elaine KwokMr Alan Lau Ka-ming*Professor Leung Wing-moMr Vincent Lo Wing-sangMs Anthea Lo Wing-szeMs Doris Luey SisiProfessor Ricardo Mak King-sangMr Rex Mok Chung-faiDr Ng Chun-hungProfessor Ng Tai-kaiDr Ng Tsz-yan*Mr David Pong Chun-yeeMs Clara Shek Ka-laiMr Douglas So Cheung-takMs Helen So Hiu-mingMr Eliott Hancock SuenProfessor Joseph Ting Sun-paoMs Ada Wong Ying-kay * Newly appointed Members Terms of Reference      To advise the Director of Leisure and Cultural Services on a wide range of subject matter concerning the public museums and related offices managed by the LCSD: 
positioning, image-building and branding;
business development strategies including but not limited to acquisition and use of museum collections, organisation of exhibitions and education programmes, identification of research projects, sponsorship and partnership initiatives;
marketing and publicity strategies on the promotion of the museums both locally, on the Mainland and overseas;
development of community engagement strategies to reach out to a wider community and stakeholders (e.g. local artists, collectors, local and overseas museums, cultural organisations, and educational institutions);
measures to strengthen the operational efficiency and accountability of public museums; and
any other matters as proposed by the LCSD.
     The membership lists and terms of reference of the three standing sub-committees are attached in Annexes 1 to 3.

Ends/Tuesday, October 20, 2020Issued at HKT 13:02


MIL OSI Asia Pacific News