Post sponsored by NewzEngine.com

Source: International Labour Organization –

GENEVA (ILO News) – The International Labour Organization (ILO) is to publish a new report detailing the effects of the COVID-19 crisis on garment supply chains, factories and workers in 10 major garment-producing countries in Asia-Pacific.

The supply chain ripple effect: How COVID-19 is affecting garment workers and factories in Asia and the Pacific assesses the impact in Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka and Viet Nam. The report has been compiled by an ILO team led by the ILO’s Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, working with Cornell University, USA.

An embargoed virtual press briefing will take place on Wednesday 21 October at 15.00 Bangkok time (10.00 Geneva time/08.00 GMT) for regional journalists and UNOG accredited correspondents.

The press conference will be given by:

  • Christian Viegelahn, Senior Economist, ILO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific
  • Arianna Rossi, Senior Research & Policy Specialist, Better Work
  • Tara Rangarajan, Head of Communications, Buyer Engagement, and Americas, Better Work

Embargoed copies of the report and press release can be made available to recognized media on request. Login details for the virtual press conference will be sent to journalists on request, ahead of the briefing.

The report and all associated materials will be under STRICT EMBARGO until Wednesday 21 October at 16:00 Bangkok time (11.00 Geneva/9.00 am GMT).

Audio of the briefing will be available to registered journalists after the press conference.

For further information and to arrange media interviews, please contact the ILO Department of Communication: newsroom@ilo.org.

For broadcast coverage and interviews, please contact: multimedia@ilo.org.

MIL OSI NGO