Post sponsored by

Source: Russian Federation Government

The list comprises 52 countries.

A single e-visa will be introduced in Russia as of the beginning of 2021. Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin has signed a directive approving a list of countries whose citizens can apply for e-visas.  

The list comprises the 52 countries whose citizens could apply for an e-visa during the pilot stage of the project. Qatar is not on the list because an agreement on mutual abolition of visa requirements came into force on 23 February 2020.

A pilot e-visa project was launched in 2017 and included a number of restrictions. For example, foreigners with an e-visa could only enter Russia through checkpoints in the Far Eastern Federal District, St Petersburg and the Leningrad and Kaliningrad regions. And they were not allowed to travel outside these regions.

As of now, the e-visa will be applicable throughout Russia. Foreigners can enter via the specially equipped checkpoints anywhere in the country and travel throughout Russia. In addition to this, the duration of a stay for foreigners has been extended from eight to 16 days.

E-visas will be issued online for tourism, business, humanitarian and guest trips. Applicants do not need an invitation, hotel booking or any other documents to confirm their reasons for travel. The consular fee is $40 (free for children aged under six). 

The introduction of single e-visas will promote tourism, enhance the investment attractions of Russian regions and boost the national economy as a whole.

MIL OSI Europe News