Post sponsored by

Source: Labour List UK

New Labour leader Keir Starmer has announced senior members of the new shadow cabinet this afternoon.

  • Leader: Jeremy Corbyn – replaced by Keir Starmer
  • Deputy leader: Vacant – replaced by Angela Rayner
  • Chancellor: John McDonnell (resigned) – replaced by Anneliese Dodds
  • Home: Diane Abbott (resigned) – replaced by Nick Thomas-Symonds
  • Foreign: Emily Thornberry – replaced by Lisa Nandy
  • Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster: Rachel Reeves
  • Health: Jon Ashworth – staying
  • Chief Whip: Nick Brown – staying
  • Shadow Leader of the Lords: Angela Smith – staying

Emily Thornberry will remain in the shadow cabinet, but it has not yet been confirmed what position she will hold.

Barry Gardiner, who was responsible for international trade, former shadow minister for the Cabinet Office Jon Trickett and ex-party chair Ian Lavery were stood down from the shadow cabinet by Starmer today.

The Labour leader is set to chair a new ‘shadow C-19 committee’, which will be responsible for coordinating the party’s response to the coronavirus pandemic.

Commenting on his new appointments, Starmer said: “We are living through a national emergency. Under my leadership, the Labour Party will always act in the country’s interest to save lives and protect livelihoods. That will be the number one priority of my shadow cabinet.

“We will be a responsible opposition that supports the government where we believe they are right and challenge them when we believe mistakes are being made.”

This article will be updated as the story develops…

MIL OSI United Kingdom