Post sponsored by NewzEngine.com

Source: Government of Western Australia

  • McGowan Government approves 35 extra shopping hours over Christmas period
  • 7am opening times allowed for larger shops on seven days before Christmas
  • Australia Day public holiday trading also extended 8am to 6pm

Perth shoppers will have more time to buy gifts in the lead up to Christmas and take full advantage of the sales that follow with the McGowan Government extending retail trading hours.

 

Commerce Minister John Quigley has approved an additional 35 hours of trading for general retail shops in the Perth metropolitan area from Saturday, December 7 until New Year’s Day. The general shops can choose to open from 7am on weekdays starting Monday, December 16 until Christmas Eve inclusive.

 

Trading on Sundays and public holidays during this period will provide four hours of extra shopping time each day with 8am to 6pm trading (normally 11am-5pm), except for Christmas Day when larger shops will remain closed, while there is an extra hour on Saturdays.

 

Under the Retail Trading Hours Act, the Minister has the power to extend trading for a 28-day period prior to New Year’s Day and for public holidays outside this period, except for Christmas Day, Good Friday and Anzac Day when general retail shops must close.

 

Trading for the Australia Day public holiday on Monday, January 27 will also be extended four hours, 8am to 6pm.

 

Comments attributed to Commerce Minister John Quigley:

 

“We hope more shopping time will translate into higher sales for our retail sector this Christmas season, with the extended trading hours giving people greater opportunities to buy presents for their friends and family.

 

“We encourage consumers to shop locally rather than buying from online stores that are based overseas.

 

“By doing this, they will be supporting local retailers who are employers of thousands of Western Australians and will help to protect the WA retail industry and support local jobs.”

 

Commerce Minister’s office – 6552 6800

 

  Monday-Friday Saturday Sunday Public holidays*
Normal 8am-9pm 8am-5pm 11am-5pm 11am-5pm
*Excludes Christmas Day, Good Friday and Anzac Day when general retail shops remain closed ​ ​ ​ ​
Saturday, December 7, 2019 8am-6pm
Sunday, December 8 8am-6pm
Monday, December 9 8am-9pm
Tuesday, December 10 8am-9pm
Wednesday, December 11 8am-9pm
Thursday, December 12 8am-9pm
Friday, December 13 8am-9pm
Saturday, December 14 8am-6pm
Sunday, December 15 8am-6pm
Monday, December 16 7am-9pm
Tuesday, December 17 7am-9pm
Wednesday, December 18 7am-9pm
Thursday, December 19 7am-9pm
Friday, December 20 7am-9pm
Saturday, December 21 8am-6pm
Sunday, December 22 8am-6pm
Monday, December 23 7am-9pm
Tuesday, December 24 7am-9pm
Wednesday, December 25 CLOSED (Christmas Day public holiday)
Thursday, December 26 8am-6pm (Boxing Day public holiday) 
Friday, December 27 8am-9pm
Saturday, December 28 8am-6pm
Sunday, December 29 8am-6pm
Monday, December 30 8am-9pm
Tuesday, December 31 8am-9pm
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 8am-6pm (New Year’s Day public holiday)
Thursday, January 2 8am-9pm (normal trading hours resume, except for Australia Day)
Monday, January 27, 2020 8am-6pm (Australia Day public holiday)

MIL OSI News