Post sponsored by

Source: Government of Queensland

Nine state schools will be closed tomorrow because of the threat of bushfires, Education Minister Grace Grace has announced.
The schools are:
Amiens State School
Applethorpe State School
Beechmont State School
Dalveen State School
Poziers State School
Stanthorpe State School
Stanthorpe State High School
The Summit State School
Thulimbah State School
St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School in Stanthorpe will also close.
“The decision to close schools is never taken lightly, but our number one priority remains the safety of students, staff and their families,” Ms Grace said.
“We will continue to liaise with emergency services personnel as the situation progresses, and we will close further schools, if necessary, for the safety of our communities.”
The most up-to-date information on Queensland state school closures can be found at
Ms Grace said all community members should continue to act with safety first in mind.
“Even if your school remains open, if you’re concerned about travelling to or from school in the current conditions, remember safety must come first,” she said.
“I strongly encourage everybody to tune into their local ABC radio service for updates on bushfires and follow all advice from emergency services in your area.”
Further information about current weather conditions can be found on the Bureau of Meteorology website at and updates on local conditions on QFES social media accounts.
Media contact: Scott Chandler – 0439 578 472