Post sponsored by

Source: Government of Saskatchewan

Released on September 6, 2019

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2020 Saskatchewan Order of Merit.

“We have so many impressive and generous people in our communities,” Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty said.  “The Saskatchewan Order of Merit enables us to celebrate the achievements of remarkable citizens.  I encourage everyone to consider nominating a deserving individual to receive our highest honour.”

The Saskatchewan Order of Merit was established in 1985 to recognize excellence, achievement and contributions to the cultural, social and economic well-being of the province.  Previous recipients have come from diverse backgrounds and have made contributions to the arts, business and industry, agriculture and volunteer service.  Nominees must be current or former long-term residents of Saskatchewan.  Any individual or group can submit a nomination, but the nomination must be for an individual, not an organization.  Posthumous nominations are accepted within one year of an individual’s date of death.

The recipients of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit will be invested by the Lieutenant Governor at a ceremony in early 2020.  The deadline to nominate an individual is November 1, 2019.

To nominate a deserving individual, or to learn more, visit


For more information, contact:

Jamie Richards
Intergovernmental Affairs
Phone: 306-787-1077
Cell: 306-519-8730

MIL OSI Canada News