Post sponsored by

MIL OSI Translation. Canadian French to English

Source: Government of Canada – MIL OSI in French

June 25, 2019 – Victoria, BC – Crown-Aboriginal Relations and Northern Affairs Canada

Renewing relations with indigenous peoples, based on the recognition of rights, respect, cooperation and partnership, is essential to reconciliation.

Today, the Honorable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Aboriginal Crown Relations, and Chiefs Liliane Squinas, Clifford Lebrun and Stuart Alec of the Southern Dakel Nation Alliance have signed a Pathway Agreement that commits both parties to move forward together to fostering lasting reconciliation and making real progress on the most important issues for this Alliance of Nations.

Building on the momentum of the Hubulhsooninats’ Uhoot’alh: Memorandum of Understanding on the Recognition of Rights and Reconciliation of July 2018, the Pathways Agreement sets out several priorities which would serve as a basis for negotiations of a possible agreement for the progressive reconciliation of nation to nation. Priority topics include: recognition and reconciliation; the construction of the nation; stewardship; culture and well-being; economic development; infrastructure and implementation.


“The self-determination vision of the Southern Dakelh Nation Alliance, now described in the Pathways Agreement, includes” healing on the land “initiatives. It also supports the implementation of nation-based governance that will deliver real, tangible and meaningful benefits that meet the needs and priorities of their Aboriginal communities. “

The Honorable Carolyn Bennett, MD, PC, MPMinister of Crown-Aboriginal Relations

“This agreement demonstrates our mutual commitment to moving forward together as government partners. While the Pathways Agreement represents only one step toward self-government and true and lasting reconciliation, it is an important step in our renewed relationship with Canada. Our Nation looks forward to the concrete implementation of this agreement in the coming months. “

Chief Stuart AlecSouthern Dakelh Nation Alliance

Quick facts

The Southern Dakelh Nation Alliance was created in 2016.

The Southern Dakelh Nation Alliance comprises four nations (the Lhoosk’uz Dene Nation, the Ltako Dene Nation, the Nazko First Nation and the Ulkatcho Nation), whose traditional territories extend throughout the northern interior. British Columbia.

Related Links


For more information, media may contact:

Matthew Dillon-LeitchDirector of CommunicationsOffice of the Honorable Carolyn BennettMinister of Crown-Aboriginal Relations819-997-0002

Media RelationsCouronne-Indigenous and Northern Affairs

Shawn HolteDirector General and Chief NegotiatorSouthern Dakelh Nation Alliance250-398-3375

Stay connected

Join the conversation about Aboriginal Peoples in Canada:

Twitter: GouvCan – AboriginalsFacebook: GouvCan – AboriginalsInstagram: @gcautochtones

You can subscribe to receive our press releases and speeches via RSS feeds. For more information or to subscribe, go to

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is a translation. Apologies should the grammar and / or sentence structure not be perfect.

MIL Translation OSI