MIL-OSI Australia: Stars in STEM recognised at 2018 Peter Doherty Awards

By   /  August 10, 2018  /  Comments Off on MIL-OSI Australia: Stars in STEM recognised at 2018 Peter Doherty Awards

    Print       Email

Source: Government of Queensland

Education Minister Grace Grace has applauded the 25 winners of the 2018 Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) Education for their outstanding contribution to the field.
Four teachers, 16 students, two support officers and three schools were awarded $5,000 each at today’s awards ceremony, named after Nobel Prize winning scientist Professor Peter Doherty.
Ms Grace said it was fitting that the awards were held on the eve of National Science Week.
“These talented people are nothing short of inspirational and have excelled in fields that are determining the shape of tomorrow, today,” Ms Grace said.
“There is fantastic work being done around STEM in schools across the state and I am constantly in awe of their work.
“I congratulate all winners on their success and encourage them to continue their efforts.”
Ms Grace said the Palaszczuk Government was committed to supporting students with an interest in STEM.
“We are supporting teachers to further develop their skills, which is preparing students to solve real world problems using their knowledge of coding and robotics,” Ms Grace said.
“STEM education is vital for students moving into the rapidly expanding global digital economy.
“That’s why our Government is investing $81.3 million over four years for the Advancing STEM initiative, supporting STEM subject teaching and learning in all state primary schools.
“This funding can be used by schools to source expertise from local secondary schools, universities or industry.
“It can also be used to gain access to resources they need, and to forge new partnerships to make STEM learning more engaging.”
Winners of the 2018 awards can be found here:
Media contact: Emma Clarey

2018 Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in STEM Education
Outstanding Senior STEM Student Awards — 12 winners
Dunija Ariyaratne, Brisbane State High School
Amy Cooper, Palm Beach-Currumbin State High School
Connor Creevey, Mountain Creek State High School
Alexandra Fulton, Brisbane State High School
Angharad Gordon, Mountain Creek State High School
Mia Hori, Miami State High School
Jemima Jeffree, Indooroopilly State High School
Lily Kenway, All Saints Anglican School (Merrimac)
Wendi Ma, Brisbane State High School
Luke Marsden, Assisi Catholic College
Jasmin Somers, Cannon Hill Anglican College
Guowen Zhang, St Joseph’s College (Gregory Terrace)
 Outstanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Senior STEM Student Awards — 4 winners
Braith Gausden, Palm Beach-Currumbin State High School
Ebony Pearson, Pimlico State High School
Keely Perry, Longreach State High School
Jayden Webster, Mount Gravatt State High School
 Outstanding Teacher of STEM Awards — 4 winners
Michael Harris, Edge Hill State School
Mia Pinnington, Coomera Rivers State School
Simon Richardson, Chancellor State College
Chantelle Sansness, Oakleigh State School
 Outstanding STEM Support Officer Awards — 2 winners
Jenny Barton, St Margaret Mary’s College (Hyde Park)
Christine McGregor, Loreto College Coorparoo
 Outstanding School STEM Awards — 2 winners
Goodna State School
Queensland Academy for Science Mathematics and Technology
 STEM Education Partnership Awards — 1 winner
IMPACT Centre – Brisbane School of Distance Education


    Print       Email